Survival Straps: Megan and Dan’s Wild Engagement

While we sure are glad that our gear can come in handy during emergency survival situations, we love hearing the lighter stories about where you take and use your Survival Straps gear. Megan recently emailed in a very happy and joyous occasion of which we were so thrilled to have played a small part. Megan wrote:

“My dad started taking me backpacking when I was 17, and I fell in love with it. Everything about being outdoors, pushing the limits of my comfort zones, accomplishing goals and literally getting over that mountain, made me happy. When I started dating Dan, he had never been backpacking, but wanted to try it, so we took him with us. He also fell in love with it and we have been going every year since we’ve been dating (5.5 years, this was our 5th trip together).

ProposalTwo years ago I purchased a Survival Strap for my dad, who loves it and wears it on all of his backpacking trips, as well as his call-outs for the Search and Rescue team he is on. Last year, I ordered Survival Straps for Dan and myself to take with us on the trail.

Proposal 1This year, Dan proposed to me on top of Precipice Lake in the Ansel Adams Wilderness (High Sierra Trail, Sierra/Kings Canyon National Park). It wasn’t your typical proposal. It was 10,600 feet of elevation, we were grimy from being out on the trail for 3 days already, we were hungry and tired, but it was perfect in every way. (I said yes, of course!) We still had twenty miles of trail to hike out of and I couldn’t wear my engagement ring, since I was afraid of losing/wrecking/making it filthy, I attached it to my Survival Strap, so I could at least see it sparkle in that beautiful sunlight.

Proposal 2Even when not unraveled, Survival Straps are extremely useful! Thanks to mine, I was able to enjoy my engagement ring while backpacking through the High Sierra’s. Thank you for such an amazing product.”

A HUGE congratulations to the happy couple! We are so excited to have been a part of your big day, and we wish you both many more years of happiness together. Thank you for sharing, Megan and Dan!

Do you have an interesting survival story to tell? Don’t forget to let us know! Email us at stories@survivalstraps.com.

Leave a Reply

